Art Faculty Lecture- Hayley Ellen Day

by hcartstudent

The chance to sit and hear the leaders of our art department talk about their work is one of the biggest blessings. They are insightful, genuine, and knowledgeable. Gary Baxter, Alicia Taylor, John Rhett, Ted Murphy, Jillian Sokso, and Ryan Cooley have all been had an influence in my work in some way or another.

Gary Baxter talked about his current work in the gallery. Whenever Professor Baxter has something to say I am on the edge of my seat, because he always speaks truth and wisdom. In his talk he had said, “what we make informs whom we become.” This is something I truly take to heart, because we pour all of ourselves into our work. Gary also touched base on his attraction to fish and God’s creation. His collection of bowls with gold luster fish truly represents that.

Alicia Taylor was next- she started her talk off with how the moon has been a strong influence to her. I loved when she talked about how the moon can be an “anchor” that brings us together. I also really appreciate how Alicia looks at the world and just continues to explore and keep moving.

John Rhett is always straightforward and honest. Especially in this talk, “I really haven’t made anything new.” But to be honest with what was going on in his life (wife’s cancer), who can blame him? I would react the same way if I were in his shoes. I did truly love the work that Rhett had shared, (watercolors from London + Paris) because I saw London and Paris through my camera lens not on paper in watercolor.

And now for Ryan Cooley- all I can really say is that he does great work every single time and I just hope that one day I can be as good of a photographer as Ryan Cooley is. Not to be dramatic or anything.

Needless to say our professor are amazing artist that I truly look up to everyday.